Comme d’Habitude

Here you go Liz.  The translation of Comme d’Habitude, the music of which was used for My Way.  This is much more melodramatic and self-pitying.  Oh so French.  The translation malarkey is tricky.  I wanted to reorder everything but thought better of it.  I think you’d leave this sort of relationship wouldn’t you?

I get up
And I nudge you
You don’t wake up
As usual

Over you
I pull the sheet
I’m afraid that you will get cold
As usual

My hand
Caresses your hair
Almost despite myself
As usual

But you
You turn your back on me
As usual

Then
I dress quickly
I leave the room
As usual

All alone
I drink my coffee
I’m late
As usual

Noiselessly
I leave the house
Everything is grey outside
As usual

I’m cold
I raise my collar
As usual

As usual
All day
I’ll play
a role
As usual
I will smile
As usual
I’ll even laugh
As usual
Finally I’m going to live
As usual

And then
The day will pass
I will return
As usual

You
You will be out
Not back yet
As usual

All alone
I will lie down
In this big cold bed
As usual

My tears
I will hide them
As usual

But as usual
Even at night
I’ll play
A role
As usual
You get back
As usual
I’ll wait for you
As usual
You will smile at me
As usual

As usual
You undress
Yes as usual
You lie down
Yes as usual
We kiss
As usual

As usual
We will pretend
As usual
Make love
Yes as usual
We will pretend
As usual

3 thoughts on “Comme d’Habitude

  1. Elizabeth says:

    oops – I thought I posted about this yesterday but it’s gone. Anyhow, I had a listen and in spite of the soul – deadening miserableness of the lyrics, he sounds quite jolly about it all. I don’t think Claude would leave this kind of relationship, I doubt he would be happy being happier if you know what I mean….

  2. Lee says:

    I agree with Elizabeth – he sounds like the sort of man that would revel in the bleakness of it all. I would dare say that most people wouldn’t leave a relationship like this. We all say that we would, but when push comes to shove, few people would give up security and a comfortable routine for the unknown.

  3. Alistair Leadbetter says:

    He’s French, of course he’d revel in the miserable nature of it all. It’s the mother lode for his creativity!

    But true, I guess there are lots of people who stay in loveless relationships. Maybe it’s easier that way and better the devil you know…

Leave a Reply

